CorX Labs

Head to head

Qwen3.8-Max vs GLM-5.3

Qwen3.8-Max from Alibaba Qwen against GLM-5.3 from Z.ai (Zhipu) — specification, price and every benchmark both makers have published, in one table.

At a glance

Benchmarks

No shared benchmarks

These two models have no benchmark in common with published figures for both, so there is nothing to compare directly. The specification and price rows below are still like for like.

Price

GLM-5.3 is cheaper

On a 3:1 input-to-output mix, GLM-5.3 costs $2.15 per million tokens against $3.00 for Qwen3.8-Max — about 1.4× less. Remember that a reasoning model bills its thinking as output, so cost per answer can diverge much further than cost per token.

What actually differs

  • These two are closely matched on the specification side — same broad capabilities, same licensing posture. The decision comes down to the benchmark rows and the price.

Scorecard

Which is better at what

Maths, coding, reasoning and the rest — one line each, averaged over the benchmarks both models actually report.

GLM-5.3 has no published benchmark scores

Its maker has not released figures for any of the evaluations tracked here, so there is nothing to put in a score column. Rather than estimate, infer from a sibling model, or quote the base model's numbers as if they were its own, this page leaves those rows empty and compares what genuinely can be compared: parameters, context window, modalities, licence and cost.

The moment those figures are published they go in — send them with a link to the source.

Which model scores higher in each capability category, averaged over the benchmarks all of them report.
CategoryQwen3.8-MaxGLM-5.3Better at this
ReasoningOnly one model reports this——Not comparable
MathsNeither model reports this——Not comparable
CodingOnly one model reports this——Not comparable
KnowledgeNeither model reports this——Not comparable
MultimodalNeither model reports this——Not comparable
Instruction followingNeither model reports this——Not comparable
Human preferenceNeither model reports this——Not comparable
Categories wonNo category has a test both models report

Each category averages only the benchmarks every model here reports, so no one is credited for a test the other did not run. A category with no shared test is marked Not comparable rather than guessed at.

Side by side

Qwen3.8-Max and GLM-5.3, row by row

AttributeQwen3.8-MaxAlibaba QwenGLM-5.3Z.ai (Zhipu)
Specification
MakerWho built itAlibaba QwenZ.ai (Zhipu)
Released2026-082026-08
ParametersTotal, and active per token for a mixture of experts2.4T total / 95B active753B total / 39B active
ArchitectureMoEMoE
Context windowHow much can go in at once1,000,000 tokens1,000,000 tokens
Max output131,072 tokensNot reported
InputNot reportedText, Image
ReasoningSpends extra tokens thinking before it answersNot reportedYes
Tool callingYesYes
LicenceQwen3.8-Max LicenseGLM-5.3 License
Open weightsCan you download and run it yourselfYesYes
Price
Input priceUSD per million tokens in$2.00$1.40
Output priceUSD per million tokens out$6.00$4.40
Cached inputNot reported$0.26
Blended 3:1A 3-in-to-1-out million-token mix — a fairer single number than input price alone$3.00$2.15Cheapest
Price noteFirst-party API rate.Open weights — this is a representative hosting rate, not a first-party price. Running it yourself costs only hardware.
Published benchmarks
GPQA Diamond198 graduate-level physics, chemistry and biology questions written to be Google-proof. PhD holders in the matching field score about 65%.92.6%Not reported
SWE-bench ProA harder, contamination-resistant successor to SWE-bench Verified, drawn from commercial and copyleft repositories that were never public training data.67.7%Not reported
Terminal-Bench 2.1The 2.1 revision of the terminal agent benchmark. Scores on it are not comparable with Terminal-Bench 2.0 or 4.0 — the task set changed.86.6%Not reported
LinksFull pageHugging Face · Full page
Row verified2026-102026-09

Where these numbers come from

Every score on this page is a published figure, taken from the model's own card, system card, technical report or release post, or from a public leaderboard. CorX Labs did not run these evaluations. Most are self-reported by the lab that built the model, which means they were produced under that lab's own choice of prompt, scaffold and number of attempts — so treat them as a starting point for a shortlist, not as a settled ranking.

A score someone other than the model's maker measured is marked Independent and names its measurer. Those are the stronger numbers on this page — an outside harness has no reason to flatter anyone — and there are not many of them.

Where a figure has not been published, the cell reads Not reported rather than an estimate. Nothing here is inferred, interpolated or guessed. Each model records the month its row was last checked. Full method and caveats.

Questions

Qwen3.8-Max or GLM-5.3?

Is Qwen3.8-Max better than GLM-5.3?

These two models have no benchmark in common with published figures for both, so there is nothing to compare directly. The specification and price rows below are still like for like.

Which is cheaper, Qwen3.8-Max or GLM-5.3?

On a 3:1 input-to-output mix, GLM-5.3 costs $2.15 per million tokens against $3.00 for Qwen3.8-Max — about 1.4× less. Remember that a reasoning model bills its thinking as output, so cost per answer can diverge much further than cost per token.

What is the difference between Qwen3.8-Max and GLM-5.3?

These two are closely matched on the specification side — same broad capabilities, same licensing posture. The decision comes down to the benchmark rows and the price.