CorX Labs

Head to head

gpt-oss-120b vs Qwen3-235B-A22B

gpt-oss-120b from OpenAI against Qwen3-235B-A22B from Alibaba Qwen — specification, price and every benchmark both makers have published, in one table.

Benchmarks

gpt-oss-120b leads

gpt-oss-120b wins 3 of the 3 benchmarks both models report, Qwen3-235B-A22B wins 0, by a wide margin. The average gap across shared tests is 9.5 points.

Price

gpt-oss-120b is cheaper

On a 3:1 input-to-output mix, gpt-oss-120b costs $0.20 per million tokens against $0.300 for Qwen3-235B-A22B — about 1.5× less. Remember that a reasoning model bills its thinking as output, so cost per answer can diverge much further than cost per token.

What actually differs

  • These two are closely matched on the specification side — same broad capabilities, same licensing posture. The decision comes down to the benchmark rows and the price.

Scorecard

Which is better at what

Maths, coding, reasoning and the rest — one line each, averaged over the benchmarks both models actually report.

Which model scores higher in each capability category, averaged over the benchmarks all of them report.
Categorygpt-oss-120bQwen3-235B-A22BBetter at this
ReasoningGPQA Diamond80.1%71.1%gpt-oss-120b+9.0
MathsAIME 202592.5%85.7%gpt-oss-120b+6.8
CodingOnly one model reports thisNot comparable
KnowledgeMMLU-Pro80.9%68.2%gpt-oss-120b+12.7
MultimodalNeither model reports thisNot comparable
Instruction followingNeither model reports thisNot comparable
Human preferenceOnly one model reports thisNot comparable
Categories wonOut of 3 comparable30gpt-oss-120b

Each category averages only the benchmarks every model here reports, so no one is credited for a test the other did not run. A category with no shared test is marked Not comparable rather than guessed at.

Side by side

gpt-oss-120b and Qwen3-235B-A22B, row by row

Attributegpt-oss-120bOpenAIQwen3-235B-A22BAlibaba Qwen
Specification
MakerWho built itOpenAIAlibaba Qwen
Released2025-082025-04
ParametersTotal, and active per token for a mixture of experts117B total / 5.1B active235B total / 22B active
ArchitectureMoEMoE
Context windowHow much can go in at once131,072 tokens131,072 tokens
Max output131,072 tokens32,768 tokens
InputTextText
ReasoningSpends extra tokens thinking before it answersYesYes
Tool callingYesYes
LicenceApache 2.0Apache 2.0
Open weightsCan you download and run it yourselfYesYes
Price
Input priceUSD per million tokens in$0.10$0.20
Output priceUSD per million tokens out$0.50$0.60
Blended 3:1A 3-in-to-1-out million-token mix — a fairer single number than input price alone$0.20Cheapest$0.300
Price noteOpen weights — this is a representative hosting rate, not a first-party price. Running it yourself costs only hardware.Open weights — this is a representative hosting rate, not a first-party price. Running it yourself costs only hardware.
Published benchmarks
MMLU-Pro12,000 reasoning-heavy multiple-choice questions across 14 academic subjects, with ten options instead of four. The harder successor to MMLU.80.9%Best68.2%
GPQA Diamond198 graduate-level physics, chemistry and biology questions written to be Google-proof. PhD holders in the matching field score about 65%.80.1%Best71.1%
AIME 2025The American Invitational Mathematics Examination — 15 problems, integer answers, no partial credit. A standard test of multi-step maths reasoning.92.5%Best85.7%
LiveCodeBenchCompetitive-programming problems collected after each model's training cutoff, so contamination cannot inflate the score.Not reported70.7%
LMArena EloElo rating from blind pairwise votes by the public on LMArena. Measures what people prefer, not what is correct.Not reported1342
LinksHugging Face · Full pageHugging Face · Full page
Row verified2026-082026-08

Where these numbers come from

Every score on this page is a published figure, taken from the model's own card, system card, technical report or release post, or from a public leaderboard. CorX Labs did not run these evaluations. Most are self-reported by the lab that built the model, which means they were produced under that lab's own choice of prompt, scaffold and number of attempts — so treat them as a starting point for a shortlist, not as a settled ranking.

A score someone other than the model's maker measured is marked Independent and names its measurer. Those are the stronger numbers on this page — an outside harness has no reason to flatter anyone — and there are not many of them.

Where a figure has not been published, the cell reads Not reported rather than an estimate. Nothing here is inferred, interpolated or guessed. Each model records the month its row was last checked. Full method and caveats.

Questions

gpt-oss-120b or Qwen3-235B-A22B?

Is gpt-oss-120b better than Qwen3-235B-A22B?

gpt-oss-120b wins 3 of the 3 benchmarks both models report, Qwen3-235B-A22B wins 0, by a wide margin. The average gap across shared tests is 9.5 points.

Which is cheaper, gpt-oss-120b or Qwen3-235B-A22B?

On a 3:1 input-to-output mix, gpt-oss-120b costs $0.20 per million tokens against $0.300 for Qwen3-235B-A22B — about 1.5× less. Remember that a reasoning model bills its thinking as output, so cost per answer can diverge much further than cost per token.

What is the difference between gpt-oss-120b and Qwen3-235B-A22B?

These two are closely matched on the specification side — same broad capabilities, same licensing posture. The decision comes down to the benchmark rows and the price.