Head to head
Gemini 3.1 Pro vs Gemini 3 Pro
Gemini 3.1 Pro from Google DeepMind against Gemini 3 Pro from Google DeepMind — specification, price and every benchmark both makers have published, in one table.
At a glance
Benchmarks
Gemini 3.1 Pro leads
Gemini 3.1 Pro wins 2 of the 2 benchmarks both models report, Gemini 3 Pro wins 0, consistently. The average gap across shared tests is 3.4 points.
Price
Same price
Both cost $4.50 per million tokens on a 3:1 input-to-output mix.
What actually differs
- These two are closely matched on the specification side — same broad capabilities, same licensing posture. The decision comes down to the benchmark rows and the price.
Scorecard
Which is better at what
Maths, coding, reasoning and the rest — one line each, averaged over the benchmarks both models actually report.
| Category | Gemini 3.1 Pro | Gemini 3 Pro | Better at this |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReasoningGPQA Diamond | 94.3% | 91.9% | Gemini 3.1 Pro+2.4 |
| MathsOnly one model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| CodingSWE-bench Verified | 80.6% | 76.2% | Gemini 3.1 Pro+4.4 |
| KnowledgeNeither model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| MultimodalOnly one model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| Instruction followingNeither model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| Human preferenceNeither model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| Categories wonOut of 2 comparable | 2 | 0 | Gemini 3.1 Pro |
Each category averages only the benchmarks every model here reports, so no one is credited for a test the other did not run. A category with no shared test is marked Not comparable rather than guessed at.
Side by side
Gemini 3.1 Pro and Gemini 3 Pro, row by row
| Attribute | Gemini 3.1 ProGoogle DeepMind | Gemini 3 ProGoogle DeepMind |
|---|---|---|
| Specification | ||
| MakerWho built it | Google DeepMind | Google DeepMind |
| Released | 2026-02 | 2025-11 |
| Context windowHow much can go in at once | 1,048,576 tokens | 1,048,576 tokens |
| Max output | 65,536 tokens | 65,536 tokens |
| Input | Text, Image, Audio, Video | Text, Image, Audio, Video |
| ReasoningSpends extra tokens thinking before it answers | Yes | Yes |
| Tool calling | Yes | Yes |
| Knowledge cutoff | Not reported | 2025-01 |
| Licence | Proprietary | Proprietary |
| Open weightsCan you download and run it yourself | No | No |
| Price | ||
| Input priceUSD per million tokens in | $2.00 | $2.00 |
| Output priceUSD per million tokens out | $12.00 | $12.00 |
| Cached input | Not reported | $0.20 |
| Blended 3:1A 3-in-to-1-out million-token mix — a fairer single number than input price alone | $4.50 | $4.50 |
| Published benchmarks | ||
| GPQA Diamond198 graduate-level physics, chemistry and biology questions written to be Google-proof. PhD holders in the matching field score about 65%. | ||
| AIME 2025The American Invitational Mathematics Examination — 15 problems, integer answers, no partial credit. A standard test of multi-step maths reasoning. | Not reported | |
| SWE-bench Verified500 human-validated GitHub issues from real Python repositories. The model must produce a patch that makes the project's own tests pass. | ||
| SWE-bench ProA harder, contamination-resistant successor to SWE-bench Verified, drawn from commercial and copyleft repositories that were never public training data. | Not reported | |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0The 2.0 task set of the terminal agent benchmark — the version most launches reported from late 2025 to spring 2026. Not comparable with 2.1 or 4.0. | Not reported | |
| Terminal-Bench 2.1The 2.1 revision of the terminal agent benchmark. Scores on it are not comparable with Terminal-Bench 2.0 or 4.0 — the task set changed. | Not reported | |
| MMMUCollege-level questions that require reading charts, diagrams, tables and photographs alongside the text. | Not reported | |
| Links | Full page | Full page |
| Row verified | 2026-10 | 2026-08 |
Where these numbers come from
Every score on this page is a published figure, taken from the model's own card, system card, technical report or release post, or from a public leaderboard. CorX Labs did not run these evaluations. Most are self-reported by the lab that built the model, which means they were produced under that lab's own choice of prompt, scaffold and number of attempts — so treat them as a starting point for a shortlist, not as a settled ranking.
A score someone other than the model's maker measured is marked Independent and names its measurer. Those are the stronger numbers on this page — an outside harness has no reason to flatter anyone — and there are not many of them.
Where a figure has not been published, the cell reads Not reported rather than an estimate. Nothing here is inferred, interpolated or guessed. Each model records the month its row was last checked. Full method and caveats.
Questions
Gemini 3.1 Pro or Gemini 3 Pro?
Is Gemini 3.1 Pro better than Gemini 3 Pro?
Gemini 3.1 Pro wins 2 of the 2 benchmarks both models report, Gemini 3 Pro wins 0, consistently. The average gap across shared tests is 3.4 points.
Which is cheaper, Gemini 3.1 Pro or Gemini 3 Pro?
Both cost $4.50 per million tokens on a 3:1 input-to-output mix.
What is the difference between Gemini 3.1 Pro and Gemini 3 Pro?
These two are closely matched on the specification side — same broad capabilities, same licensing posture. The decision comes down to the benchmark rows and the price.